Still Here.

2016-01-11 11.42.22

A year ago today, I ran away and decided to die. Yet a year later, today, I am Still Here. Still breathing, still living, still seeing, still believing, despite everything I have been through. There are so, so many people to thank for this; friends and family and community staff alike. But I’ve little I actually want to say on the subject, other than I Am Still Here. I just want to savour that fact. Still Here, on this earth, in this life. And I will just sum everything else up with these two quotes:

Before you know it, you’re 20 years old and wondering what happened to that 13 year old girl and why did she spend so long hating herself? But you realize that 13 year old girl didn’t ever see herself to be 20, she didn’t think she would make it this far, but she did, and oh God, she’s so proud of herself for doing so.

-Annonymous.
This quote means so much to me, especially on this day; I replace the 20 with 18 at the moment, but in two years I wish to God I will be able to read this quote without changing to age, other than to increase it.

I like living. I have sometimes been wildly, despairingly, acutely miserable, racked with sorrow, but through it all I still know quite certainly that just to be alive is a grand thing.

-Agatha Christie

Leave a comment