Recovery: On Top Of The World (Good Days)

It’s been a couple of good days, and I’m going to record them in this short post here just before dinner time. Wednesday, after piano lesson, I slept over at my Grandma’s for my weekly respite, and we had a good Thursday. Now, yesterday, I walked Sally (greyhound) in the morning a different way to usual. On the way back to Philip’s (her owner) house, I asked an elderly lady with a shopping wheely bag thing if she needed help (she didn’t) and when I got back to Philip’s I had a lovely conversation with him and his lady friend (still can’t remember the name of her…) which was nice. Then I spent the rest of the morning inside alone, but it was good – I had Misty, who came downstairs to see me a few times, and I had a good time just being calm and doing what I wanted (playing Tomb Raider mostly). Then it was Grandma’s again and we got picked up and taken home after tea.

Today I walked Norbert this morning, which is lovely, and then went to town with mum and the boys. It was a lovely afternoon in town; I bought some books, a film, and some clothes (summer dresses) from charity shops. Some even by myself! Then we got some nice fruit, and then on the way back, went in the Animals in Distress charity shop. There we got a few things too, and I noticed that they are looking for people to work there. So mum asked and I was given a form. Then I asked about dogs, and they showed me the two they had there in the back – a setter called Ben and a lovely black retriever cross who I can’t remember the name of. I had a conversation with the manager while I stroked the dogs, and it was really nice, and rounded off a good day.

So that’s this past week, just about. It’s been quite good really. I’ve done things I should be proud of, and I might have a job now, with dogs to help no less! It has been lovely and sunny recently and one of my main achievements for this week is that on Wednesday when mum and I were dog walking, I took off my jacket and just walked around in a t-shirt, for the first time in a long time. Mum didn’t judge. She praised me at the end and said it was good. So this is recovery. Maybe I’m really doing it this time. There is some good in this world, and it’s Worth Fighting For.

2015-04-16 22.11.52

Leave a comment